Commissioners named for National Inquiry into Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and

first_imgBy Dennis WardWINNIPEG – A National Inquiry into Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls will get underway next month.After a series of unexplained delays, the federal government announced details about the inquiry this morning, including the five commissioners who will head up the process.The commissioners are:· The Honourable Marion Buller, Chief Commissioner· Michèle Audette, Commissioner· Qajaq Robinson, Commissioner· Marilyn Poitras, Commissioner· Brian Eyolfson, CommissionerThe national inquiry will have a budget of 53.86-million dollars and run for a little more than two years, from September 2016 to December 31st, 2018.And for the first time, a national inquiry will be able to make recommendations across all juristictions.Buller, who will act as chief commissioner, was the first female First Nations member of the B.C. judiciary.Michele Audette is the former president of the Native Women’s Association of Canada.Qajaq Robinson is an interesting choice for some. She practises general civil litigation with particular emphasis on Aboriginal law, She was born in Nunavut but is reportedly not Inuk.Marilyn Poitras is a University of Saskatchewan professor. According to her biography, her expertise and passion is around Constitutional and Aboriginal Law.Brian Eyolfson is an Ontario human rights lawyer.In response to the pre-inquiry recommendations, the government also announced today $16.17 million over four years for the creation of Family Information Liaison Units in each province and territory and to increase victims services funding to provide culturally-appropriate victims services for families of missing and murdered Indigenous women and girls and survivors of violence.More coming….last_img